FAQ sur la COVID-19

ÉCOLES DANS UNE ZONE EN PHASE ROUGE
  • Un dépistage actif sera effectué auprès du personnel scolaire avant d’entrer dans une école. Les parents doivent faire un dépistage actif de leur enfant chaque matin avant de se rendre à l’école. 
  • Les membres du personnel scolaire sont tenus de porter un masque à tout moment à l’école, incluant à l’extérieur.
  • S’il y a un cas confirmé dans une école, l’école sera fermée aux élèves pour 3 jours consécutifs, y compris la fin de semaine, afin de permettre la recherche de contacts. La Santé publique vous contactera directement si vous devez vous présenter à l’école.
  • Certains espaces communs de l’école ne seront pas utilisés pour les rassemblements de personnes dans la mesure du possible.
  • Les élèves et le personnel scolaire ne peuvent pas être dans une école s’ils ont UN symptôme ou plus.

La province a confirmé que le dépistage ne relève pas de la responsabilité du personnel enseignant ou des directions d’école. Il a été confirmé que des dépisteurs peuvent être embauchés.

Non. Les enseignants ne seront pas tenus d’arriver plus tôt pour le dépistage.

L’intention de l’employeur de rendre obligatoire le test de dépistage ne constitue pas une violation de la convention collective. Si vous refusez de vous faire tester (à la demande de l’employeur) vous devrez prendre un congé sans solde pour la durée de la période d’auto-isolement recommandée par la santé publique (jusqu’à 14 jours) à moins de pouvoir justifier une condition médicale qui demande un accommodement.

 La FENB a reçu la confirmation par un avis juridique que nous ne réussirions pas à contester la capacité qu’a l’employeur d’effectuer un test obligatoire pour la COVID-19. 

Pour toute question à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec Caroline Foisy à caroline.foisy@nbtffenb.ca.

Lorsqu’un cas positif est confirmé, l’école est automatiquement fermée pendant trois jours. Les enseignants doivent se rapporter à l’école à moins de recevoir l’information contraire de la part de la Santé publique.

Pendant la phase rouge, le nombre de symptômes a été réduit à UN pour qu’un enseignant soit tenu de s’auto-isoler et appeler le 811. Il a été convenu que les enseignants seraient réaffectés à domicile avec salaire, jusqu’à ce qu’ils reçoivent de la Santé publique un avis disant qu’ils peuvent retourner au travail. (Lorsque réaffecté à domicile, l’employeur peut demander à l’enseignant de travailler à distance.)

Outil de dépistage de la COVID-19

Congés et avantages pour les situations reliées à la COVID-19

En phase d’alerte rouge, les salles de conférence, les coins de cuisine, les salles de pause et les autres aires communes ne seront pas utilisés pour les rassemblements de personnes dans la mesure du possible. Les employés peuvent servir des coins de cuisine pour se préparer un café ou thé ou pour réchauffer leur repas, mais ils doivent ensuite le consommer dans leur espace de travail personnel. Pour les employés qui n’ont pas d’espace de travail personnel, ceux-ci peuvent consommer leur repas dans le coin cuisine, une salle de  classe vide ou la cafétéria en autant que la distanciation de deux mètres et les règles entourant le port du masque soient respectées.

Non, à moins qu’une situation urgente ne survienne pendant les heures d’enseignement (la disponibilité du personnel suppléant ne constitue pas une urgence).

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter l’article 21 de la convention collective.

Les écoles publiques resteront ouvertes durant une alerte rouge. Dans le cas où un parent choisit de ne pas envoyer son enfant à l’école, ce dernier devient le premier responsable de l’éducation de son enfant.

Les mêmes exigences qu’auparavant s’appliquent pour les enfants qui sont absents de l’école pour des raisons de maladie (ce sont les mêmes attentes que les années précédentes).

JOURNÉE DE TRAVAIL

Oui, le temps de préparation est un bénéfice négocié faisant partie de la convention collective (article 19).

Le MÉDPE respectera son engagement envers la convention collective en termes de temps de préparation.

En vertu de l’article 22 (A) 02 de la convention collective, tout enseignant a droit de demander une période d’au moins soixante (60) minutes sans service pour son repas du midi. Si cette demande est faite en cours d’année scolaire, les directions d’école auront besoin de temps pour procéder aux ajustements nécessaires des horaires. Il est important de noter que le temps de préparation peut être ajouté avant ou après le dîner afin de fournir les 60 minutes de repas sans service.

L’article 22 (A) 01 stipule que les fonctions extra-professionnelles doivent être limitées et réparties également entre le personnel. Les exigences opérationnelles de l’école pendant la pandémie peuvent nécessiter de la surveillance supplémentaire de la part du personnel enseignant. La convention collective ne prévoit pas de durée maximale pour la surveillance.

Les heures d’enseignement doivent être conformes à l’article 18 de la convention collective.

Oui, si les heures pour déposer et récupérer les enfants se situent en dehors des heures d’enseignement et que cela ne nuise pas à l’horaire de supervision. Il est important de rappeler que les enseignants doivent être présents à l’école 20 minutes avant le début des classes le matin et jusqu’à 30 minutes après le départ du dernier autobus scolaire en fin de journée.

Non, l’employeur n’a pas l’obligation de réduire le nombre d’élèves par classe combinée prévu à l’article 20.07 de la convention collective.

Lorsqu’un enseignant doit s’absenter de sa classe pour quelque raison que ce soit, il doit suivre ce qui a été défini dans le plan opérationnel de son école.

L’article 25(1) f des Règlements 97-150 de la Loi sur l’Éducation prévoient que les enseignants doivent être présents 20 minutes avant le début des heures d’enseignement.

On peut exiger la présence des enseignants avant les 20 minutes précédant le début des heures d’enseignement s’ils sont affectés à des tâches extra-professionnelles, selon l’article 22 de la convention collective. Toutes les tâches extra-professionnelles confiées aux enseignants, quel que soit le moment où elles sont accomplies, doivent être prises en compte dans le calcul du temps total.

Il incombe aux directions d’écoles de déterminer le niveau de surveillance requis pour assurer la santé et la sécurité de leur école. Toutefois, l’un des éléments clés de l’article 22 (A) 01 de la convention collective est que la surveillance doit être limitée, donc tenue à un minimum. Exiger que tous les enseignants arrivent plus tôt que 20 minutes avant le début des heures d’enseignement pour surveiller ne respecte pas cette limite.

De plus, il n’est pas raisonnable que TOUS les enseignants soient responsables de l’arrivée des élèves avant les 20 minutes, pendant les pauses et le dîner.

Les questions concernant les tâches extra-professionnelles peuvent être discutées avec le personnel de la FENB.

TÂCHES ET RESPONSABILITÉS

Les mêmes exigences qu’auparavant s’appliquent pour les enfants qui sont absents de l’école pour des raisons de maladie (ce sont les mêmes attentes que les années précédentes).

Dans le cas où un parent choisit de ne pas envoyer son enfant à l’école, ce dernier devient le premier responsable de l’éducation de son enfant.

Non, les enseignants ne sont pas tenus de s’enregistrer sur vidéo pour les partager avec leurs élèves ou les parents.

Toute question relative à ce sujet doit être abordé avec le personnel du district puisque le personnel enseignant n’est pas responsable d’offrir le soutien technologique.

S’ils le souhaitent, les enseignants peuvent utiliser leurs appareils personnels pour communiquer avec les parents. Toutefois, ils ne sont pas obligés d’en faire une utilisation à des fins professionnelles.  

Si un enseignant choisi d’utiliser son appareil personnel, il est suggéré de composer le *67 avant de faire l’appel pour que son numéro de téléphone demeure confidentiel.

Note importante : La FENB a reçu l’avis juridique suivant concernant l’utilisation d’un appareil personnel d’un employé aux fins de communication sur des questions liées au travail :

– Les employés ont une attente raisonnable en matière de respect de la vie privée lors de l’utilisation d’un appareil personnel. Par conséquent, le Ministère n’est pas autorisé à saisir ou perquisitionner un appareil cellulaire appartenant à un employé, que le forfait d’appareil mobile soit subventionné ou non par le ministère.

– Les communications des employés concernant les questions liées au travail seront considérées comme relevant du contrôle du MÉDPE et seront soumises au droit à l’information et protection de la vie privée, que cette communication soit effectuée par le biais d’un plan d’appareil mobile personnel ou d’un forfait d’appareil mobile subventionné par le Ministère. Dans les faits, on pourrait s’attendre à ce que l’employeur demande à l’employé de rechercher sur son appareil mobile les documents liés au travail énumérés dans la demande. Nous ne nous attendons pas à ce que l’employeur effectue lui-même une recherche sur l’appareil mobile personnel.

ÉQUIPEMENT DE PROTECTION PERSONNEL (ÉPP) ET MESURES DE SÉCURITÉ

Selon le Plan de retour à l’école « Le dépistage passif est exigé à l’entrée du bâtiment pour le personnel scolaire, les élèves et les autres personnes qui ont la permission d’entrer dans l’école. Un affichage visible aux entrées de l’école est obligatoire. Les adultes et les élèves ne seront pas tenus de faire prendre leur température à l’entrée de l’école. Au lieu, ils devront vérifier leur température avant de partir pour l’école et pratiquer l’autosurveillance.


Les parents sont responsables de passer en revue les questions de dépistage avec leurs enfants et de ne les envoyer à l’école que s’ils sont en santé et répondent aux critères décrits dans le questionnaire de contrôle. Consulter le site Web de Travail sécuritaire NB pour voir l’affiche sur le contrôle pour de la COVID-19. »

Le ministère a travaillé avec la santé publique pour élaborer des directives pour les écoles publiques. La recommandation concernant la distance physique d’un (1) mètre a été faite sur la base des normes de l’OMS. Elle permet une distance appropriée mais tient également compte de la réalité de la disponibilité de l’espace dans une école. La distance physique est un élément de la réponse du système scolaire à COVID-19, elle ne peut être examinée de manière isolée. Elle est plutôt associée à l’utilisation de masques, au lavage des mains et à d’autres mesures. Ceci a été sanctionné par la santé publique.

Si les élèves ne peuvent pas maintenir une distance physique en dehors de leur groupe de classe, ils doivent porter des masques dans les zones communes, en plus de se laver les mains. Chaque élève devrait apporter un masque à l’école

Oui, les écoles doivent s’assurer qu’elles disposent de toutes les fournitures nécessaires, notamment de l’eau courante potable chaude et froide, du savon liquide, des serviettes en papier, du papier hygiénique, des produits de nettoyage et de désinfection.

Le nettoyage est la responsabilité des concierges (SCFP 1253) et non des enseignants. Cependant, les enseignants seront responsables de nettoyer leur propre équipement (bureau, chaise, ordinateurs, etc.)

Veuillez consulter l’annexe G du guide RETOUR À L’ÉCOLE : Directives pour les districts scolaires et les écoles

Les toilettes doivent être équipées d’eau courante chaude et froide sous pression, de savon liquide, de serviettes en papier, de papier hygiénique et de poubelles. Les toilettes doivent être nettoyées fréquemment par les concierges (au minimum trois fois par jour). On recommande aux écoles de limiter le nombre d’élèves qui accèdent aux toilettes en même temps. 

Les élèves ayant des comportements complexes, des plans médicaux ou les personnes qui subissent une urgence de santé ou sécurité exigeront une proximité physique du personnel scolaire. Le besoin d’équipement de protection individuelle sera déterminé dans le cadre des plans individuels préexistants et/ou des procédures scolaires existantes.  Les plans doivent tenir compte de la santé et de la sécurité physique du personnel et des élèves. Aucun équipement supplémentaire n’est nécessaire dû au seul fait de la pandémie. 

Les enseignants ayant besoin d’accommodement seront identifiés avant le début de l’école et des accommodements seront mis en place pour répondre aux besoins individuels. Le processus d’identification des employés ayant besoin de mesures d’adaptation est déjà en cours. 

Tous les enseignants devront fournir leur propre masque communautaire, toutefois, une visière de protection faciale sera offerte par l’employeur. Les enseignants devront indiquer s’ils ont besoin d’une protection pour leur pupitre, lequel sera également fourni par l’employeur. 

La Santé publique déterminera à quel moment un test sera requis et dans quelle circonstance.

Il y a des mesures que vous pouvez prendre pour demeurer en santé et protéger votre entourage des virus comme le rhume, la grippe et la COVID-19. Veuillez vous référer à la page Web Se protéger et protéger les autres pour plus de renseignements.

Selon le plan de retour à l’école, les enseignantes et les enseignants itinérants ainsi que le personnel scolaire qui travaillent dans plus d’une école et qui entrent en contact avec des élèves, devront suivre une distanciation physique de deux (2) mètres dans la classe et dans les espaces communs. Lorsqu’une distanciation de deux (2) mètres n’est pas possible, ils devront porter un masque. Si un membre du personnel scolaire veut porter un écran facial, un masque doit aussi être porté. Ils devront aussi remplir un formulaire détaillant leur mouvement. Les districts scolaires examineront des moyens de réduire le nombre d’écoles que visitent ces employés.

Un enseignant peut demander à ses élèves de porter leur masque communautaire. Toutefois, il ne peut être rendu obligatoire sauf si la Santé publique l’exige. 

 

À moins de fournir une raison médicale, si un élève refuse de porter son masque, on doit immédiatement le rapporter à la direction d’école puisque cela contrevient à une directive de la santé publique.

CONGÉS DE MALADIE ET AUTRES TYPES DE CONGÉS

La FENB s’est entendue avec l’employeur sur les types de congés à prendre en raison de la COVID-19. Ce tableau démontre les différents congés qui peuvent s’appliquer selon les situations.

Congés et avantages pour les situations reliées à la COVID-19

Tout indique qu’il y aura une forte demande d’enseignants suppléants à l’automne. Il incombe à l’employeur de s’assurer que les enseignants absents soient remplacés et qu’il y ait suffisamment de suppléants disponibles.

La FENB n’a pas le pouvoir de limiter les déplacements personnels des enseignants. À ce jour, la Santé publique demande que tous les employés doivent respecter une période d’auto-isolement de 14 jours après un voyage vers une destination hors des provinces de l’Atlantique et de la bulle québécoise. Cela pourrait donc donner lieu à un congé sans solde pour la durée de l’isolement.

Veuillez consulter l’avis aux voyageurs de Santé Canada: 

https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/maladies/2019-nouveau-coronavirus.html

Les enseignants recevront indemnisés si leur classe est en auto-isolement puisque « l’enseignement et l’apprentissage ne doivent pas s’arrêter si les élèves sont renvoyés chez eux en raison d’une épidémie. »

Oui, la convention collective est toujours en vigueur et tous les bénéfices sont encore disponibles pourvu qu’il y a des enseignants suppléants disponibles.

Les enseignants qui, à la demande de l’employeur, doivent passer un test de dépistage pendant les heures d’enseignement auront droit à un congé payé. Aucun congé maladie ne sera utilisé.

SANTÉ ET POPULATION VULNÉRABLE

La grossesse n’a pas été identifiée comme une condition à risque pour la COVID-19. On s’attend donc à ce que les femmes enceintes se présente au travail. Si vous avez des préoccupations d’ordre médical, veuillez consulter votre médecin et en informer votre district scolaire.

Veuillez consulter le site Web de Santé Canada pour les détails concernant la population vulnérable et la COVID-19.

Le ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance, en consultation avec le ministère des Transports et des Infrastructures, Travail sécuritaire NB et le ministère de la Santé, a élaboré un document d’orientation sur la ventilation dans les écoles. Les écoles peuvent consulter leur district scolaire pour obtenir des conseils.

CONVENTION COLLECTIVE

Tous les nouveaux postes vacants donneront lieu à l’attribution d’un contrat B supplémentaire dans le district. Ces contrats ne seront pas nécessairement attribués aux nouveaux employés.

En septembre, les enseignants reprendront leurs heures normales de travail. Par conséquent, tout travail effectué en dehors des heures normales d’enseignement est à la discrétion des enseignants. Toutefois, les enseignants doivent participer aux réunions du personnel qui traitent de questions administratives comme l’horaire de l’école, les politiques de l’école, la discipline scolaire, la promotion ou autres sujets liés au fonctionnement général de l’école. Un calendrier des réunions devrait normalement être distribué en début d’année scolaire. Les activités impliquant les rencontres parents-maîtres font partie de l’article 18.02, et accepte que les enseignants soient tenus d’assister à condition que leur durée et leur fréquence soient raisonnables. 

La FENB accepte également que la rencontre parent-enseignant en début d’année nécessite la présence obligatoire des enseignants.

La prochaine année scolaire sera certainement exceptionnelle et nécessitera une flexibilité et une coopération accrues de la part de tous les enseignants et du personnel.

NiveauxTaille des groupes, tels que définis dans le plan de retour à l’école du MÉDPE
K-2Réduction de la taille des groupes à près de 15 élèves autant que possible
3-5Réduction de la taille des groupes à près de 22 élèves autant que possible
6-8Taille normale des classes
9-12Taille normale des classes.  La présence à tour de rôle (au minimum tous les deux jours) sauf lorsque les écoles peuvent accommoder une distance d’un (1) mètre.
  • Ces tailles de classes ne correspondent pas à la taille normale des classes en vertu de la convention collective. Le nombre d’élèves a été réduit en raison de la COVID-19 et se reflète dans le plan de retour à l’école du MÉDPE pour l’année scolaire 2020-2021.
  • Lors de discussions avec le MÉDPE, ils ont indiqué qu’ « autant que possible » signifie une augmentation possible de deux élèves au-dessus de la limite de la taille du groupe.
ENSEIGNANTS SUPPLÉANTS

Les enseignants suppléants auront accès au plan opérationnel des écoles dans lesquelles ils seront appelés à enseigner. Ces plans sont d’ordre publique et seront placés sur le site Web de chaque école.

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec la FENB par courriel à nbtf-fenb@nbtffenb.ca.

FAQ on COVID-19

SCHOOLS IN RED LEVEL ZONES
  • There will be active screening prior to entry into the school building for all school personnel. Parents will be required to actively screen children prior to going to school every morning.
  • Staff and students are required to wear a mask at all times, including outside.
  • If there is a confirmed case in a school, the school will be closed to students for 3 consecutive days, including weekends, to allow for contact tracing. Public Health will notify you directly if you are to report to schools.
  • Certain common areas in the school will not be used for in-person gatherings wherever possible.
  • Staff and students must remain home if they have ONE symptom or more.

The province has confirmed that screening is not the responsibility of teachers and school administrators. It has been confirmed that screeners can be hired.

No. Teachers will not be required to arrive early for screening to be conducted.

The employer’s intention to make testing mandatory is not a violation of the collective agreement. If you refuse to be tested (at the employer’s request) you will be required to take a leave without pay for the duration of the self-isolation period (up to 14 days), as recommended by Public Health, unless you can justify a medical condition that requires accommodation.

It has been confirmed to the NBTF through legal opinion that we would be unsuccessful in challenging the employer’s ability to mandatorily test for COVID-19. 

If you have any questions on this topic, please contact Caroline Foisy at caroline.foisy@nbtffenb.ca.

In the event of a positive case, the school is automatically closed for three days. Teachers are expected to report to work unless instructed otherwise by Public Health.

During the red level, the threshold is reduced to only ONE symptom for a teacher to be required to self-isolate and call 811. It has been agreed that teachers will be considered to be reassigned to home with pay, until they are informed by Public Health that they may return to work. (When reassigned home, the employer can ask the teacher to work remotely.)

Screening Tool for COVID-19

Leaves and Benefits Related to COVID-19 Situations

During the Red level, meeting rooms, kitchens, break rooms and other common areas will not be used for in-person gatherings wherever possible. Employees can use kitchen areas to make their coffee or tea, warm up their meal etc. but must go back to their personal workspace to eat. For employees who do not have a personal workspace, they may use the kitchen, an empty classroom or cafeteria to eat their meals as long as the 2-metre distancing and facemask rules are followed.

No, unless an emergency situation arises during the hours of instructions (the unavailability of  supply teachers does not constitute an emergency).

For additional information, please refer to Article 21 of the Collective Agreement.

Public schools will remain open during a red alert level. In the event that a parent chooses not to send their child to school, the parent is responsible for their child’s education.

There is no change in the obligation of teachers with regards to students who are absent from school due to illness (it is the same expectation as in previous years).

WORK DAYS

Yes, preparation time is a negotiated benefit included in the Collective Agreement (Art. 19).

EECD will be honouring its commitment to the Collective Agreement in terms of preparation time.

Teachers are entitled to request, as per Article 22 (A) 02 of the Collective Agreement, a 60 minute duty-free lunch at any time during the school year. If this request is made during the school year, school administrators will need time in order to make the necessary adjustments to schedules. It is important to note that preparation time can be added before or after a lunch break in order to provide the 60 minute duty-free lunch.

Art. 22 (A) 01 states that non-teaching duties shall be kept to a minimum and evenly distributed among staff. Operational requirements of the school during the pandemic may require additional supervision from teaching staff. The Collective Agreement does not provide a maximum amount of time for supervision.

Hours of instruction shall be in accordance with Article 18 of the Collective Agreement.

Yes, if drop off and pick up times fall outside of the hours of instruction and do not interfere with scheduled supervision. It is important to remember that teachers are required to be present 20 minutes prior to the opening of classes in the morning, and up to 30 minutes after the departure of the last school bus at the end of the day.

No, there is no obligation for the employer to reduce the combined class size number outlined in the Article 20.07 of the collective agreement.

When a teacher has to be absent from their classroom for whatever reason, they should follow what has been outlined in their school’s operational plan.

Article 25(1)f of Regulations 97-150 of the Education Act requires teachers to be present at school 20 minutes prior to the beginning of instruction time.

Teachers may be required to be in school prior to the 20 minutes before the commencement of instruction time if they are assigned to do non-teaching duties as per Article 22 of the Collective Agreement. All non-teaching duties assigned to teachers, regardless of when, are to be considered when calculating the total amount.

School administrators are responsible to determine the level of supervision required to maintain the health and safety of their building. However, one of the key elements of Article 22 (A) 01 of the Collective Agreement is that supervision must be kept to a minimum. Requiring all teachers to arrive earlier than 20 minutes prior to the commencement of instruction time to supervise does not meet this threshold.

Furthermore, it is not reasonable for ALL teachers to be responsible for students arriving prior to the 20 minutes, during breaks and lunch.

Questions regarding non-teaching duties can be discussed with NBTF staff.

TASKS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

There is no change in the obligation of teachers with regards to students who are absent from school due to illness (it is the same expectation as in previous years).

In the event that a parent chooses not to send their child to school, the parent is responsible for their child’s education.

No, teachers are under no obligation to video record themselves to share with students or parents.

Any questions related to this topic should be redirected to district staff as teachers are not responsible for providing IT support.

If they wish, teachers may use their personal devices to communicate with parents. However, they are under no obligation to use them for work purposes.  

If a teacher chooses to use their personal device, it is suggested that they dial *67 before the phone number to keep their phone number confidential.

Important note : The NBTF received the following legal opinion regarding communication by employees on private devices used to communicate regarding work-related matters:

  • Employees have a reasonable expectation of privacy on a private device. As a result, the Department is not entitled to seize and search a mobile device owned privately by an employee, regardless of whether the cell phone plan is subsidized by the Department.
  • Employee communications regarding work related matters will be considered to be under the control of EECD and will be subject to the Right to Information and Protection of Privacy (commonly known as “RTIPPA”), regardless of whether the communication is made through a privately owned and paid for mobile device plan or a mobile device plan which is subsidized by the Department. In practice, we would expect the employer to request the employee to search his or her device for the work-related records listed in the request. We would not expect the employer to search the device.
PERSONAL PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT (PPE) AND SAFETY MEASURES

In accordance with the Return to School Plan: “Passive screening is required for school personnel, students and others permitted in the school building prior to entry. Signage is required to be clearly visible at the entrances. Adults and students will not be required to have their temperature taken prior to entry but should instead check their temperature prior to leaving for school and practice self-monitoring.

Parents are responsible for reviewing the screening questions with their children prior to leaving for school and only sending their child to school when they are well and have met the criteria outlined in the survey. See WorkSafe NB Website for ‘Screening for COVID-19 Poster.’

The Department has worked with Public Health to develop guidance for public schools. The recommendation regarding physical distancing of one (1) metre was made based on World Health Organization (WHO) standards. It allows for appropriate distancing but also considers the reality of space availability in a school. Physical distancing is one element of the school system’s response to COVID-19, it cannot be scrutinized in isolation. But rather, it works in conjunction with mask use, hand washing and other measures. This has been sanctioned by Public Health.

If students cannot maintain physical distance outside their class grouping, they must wear masks in common areas, in addition to hand washing. Each student should bring a mask for use in school.

Yes, schools must ensure they have all the necessary supplies such as hot/cold potable running water, liquid soap, paper towel, toilet paper, hand sanitizer refills, cleaning and disinfecting supplies.

Cleaning is the responsibility of the custodians (CUPE 1253), and not the teachers. However, teachers will be responsible to clean their own equipment (desk, computer, chair, etc.)

Please refer to Appendix G of the Return to School: Directives for School Districts and Schools

Washrooms must be equipped with hot and cold running water under pressure, liquid soap, paper towel, toilet paper, and garbage containers. Handwash signs must be posted. Washrooms should be cleaned frequently by the custodians (at least three times a day). It is recommended that schools limit the number of students accessing the washrooms at one time.

Students with complex behaviours, medical plans or individuals experiencing a health or safety emergency will require staff to be in close physical proximity. The need for personal protective equipment will be determined within pre-existing individual plans and/or existing school procedures. Plans should address the health and physical safety of both staff and students. There is no additional equipment required due to the pandemic alone.

Teachers requiring accommodation will be identified prior to the start of school and accommodation will be developed to meet the individual need. The process of identifying employees in need of accommodation is already underway. 

All teachers will be responsible for providing their own community masks, however, a face shield will be provided by the employer. Teacher will be asked if they require a desks shield, which will also to be provided by the employer.

There are actions you can take to stay healthy and protect the people around you from viruses such as cold, flu and COVID-19. Please refer to the Protect yourself and others webpage for information.

According to the Return to School Plan, visiting teachers and other school personnel who travel between schools and have contact with students will maintain a physical distance of two metres in the classroom and in common areas. Community masks will be used if the two metre physical distancing is not possible. If school personnel chooses to wear a face shield, a community mask must also be worn. They must also maintain a log of their movements. Districts will try to limit the number of schools that these employees visit.

A teacher may request that students wear their community masks, however, it cannot be made mandatory unless it is required by Public Health.

All issues of accommodations will be dealt with on an individual basis involving the member, the employer (Districts) and the NBTF.

Unless for medical reasons, if a student refuses to wear a mask, it should be reported immediately to the school administration as it contravenes the direction provided by Public Health.

SICK LEAVES AND OTHER LEAVES

Teachers who, at the request of the Employer, must get tested during the hours of intrustion shall receive a leave with pay and no sick days shall be deducted.

The NBTF and the employer agreed on the type of leaves to be taken related to COVID-19. The following table shows the different types of leaves that may apply according to your situation.

Leaves and Benefits for COVID-19 Related Situations

All indications are that there will be a great demand for supply teachers in the fall. It is the employer’s responsibility to replace absent teachers and ensure that supply teachers are available.

The NBTF does not have the authority to restrict the personal travel of staff. At this time, Public Health is requesting that all New Brunswickers complete a 14-day self-isolation period following travel to any destination outside of the Atlantic Provinces and the small Quebec bubble. This could therefore result in a leave without pay for that period.

Please refer to Health Canada Travel Advisory: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/2019-novel-coronavirus-infection.html

Teachers will be compensated if their classroom is self isolated as “teaching and learning must not stop if students are sent home because of an outbreak.”

Yes, the Collective Agreement is still in effect and all benefits are still available, subject to supply teachers being available.

HEALTH AND VULNERABLE POPULATION

Pregnancy has not been identified as an at-risk condition for COVID-19, therefore they are expected to report to work. If you have medical concerns, please consult your physician and advise your school district.

Please refer to the Health Canada Website for details on vulnerable populations and COVID-19.

The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, in consultation with Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Worksafe NB, and Department of Health, has developed a guidance document on ventilation in schools. Schools can consult with their school district for guidance.

COLLECTIVE AGREEMENT

All new vacancies will result in an additional B contract being awarded in the district. These contracts will not necessarily be given to new hires.

In September, teachers will return to normal working hours. Therefore, anything work related done outside of the normal hours of instruction are at the discretion of teachers. However, teachers are required to attend staff meetings which deal with administrative issues such as scheduling, school policies, school discipline, promotion, or other issues related to the general operation of the school. A calendar of the scheduled meetings should normally be distributed to teachers at the beginning of the school year. Activities involving parent-teacher interviews fall within the general description of Article 18.02, which means there is an obligation for teachers to attend such meetings if their duration and frequency are reasonable. 

The NBTF also agrees that a meet-the-teacher event at the beginning of a school year also requires teachers to be present.   

The upcoming school year will certainly be exceptional and will require increased flexibility and cooperation from all teachers and staff.

GradesGroup size per classroom as per EECD’s return to school plan
K-2Reduced grouping size, as close to 15 students, wherever possible 
3-5Reduced grouping size, as close to 22 students, wherever possible
6-8Regular class size
9-12Attendance on a rotational basis (minimum every other day) except where schools can accommodate physical distancing of one metre.
  • These class sizes are not the regular class size under the Collective Agreement. The number of students have been reduced because of COVID19 and are reflected in the EECD return to school plan for the 2020-2021 school year. 
  • In discussions with EECD, they have indicated that “wherever possible” means a possible increase of two above the group size limit.
SUPPLY TEACHERS

Supply teachers will have access to the operational plan of any school in which they are scheduled to teach as these plans are public information and will be placed on the schools’ websites.

If this FAQ does not answer your question, please do not hesitate to contact the NBTF by email at nbtf-fenb@nbtffenb.ca